Willing to be Illuminated and Pierced

Midnight Dilemma

The bell has been rung for the fourtieth time

Not a noise or breath had moved behind the curtains

Even a spirit did not bother to see through the unclean glass windows

To see this poor vagabond waiting for attention
I feel like a jilted lover

Ready to croon a tired, broken song

Enduring the suspicious stares 

Of a weary neighbor and his blunt dog

My trustworthy travel bag

Was burdening upon my shoulder

Just like these heavy eyelids

Darkening in the low-lit streets
I’ve been counting the minutes

I cannot wait for the morning

Have mercy on this traveler

Who had toiled for a well-deserved rest
A click and a clang 

Mercy has heard my plea!

That poker face through the door 

Sent my heart skipping with glee

This home away from home

Has welcomed me again

With you, I will sleep in peace

And take my refuge in your walls again

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

