Willing to be Illuminated and Pierced

Growing Up Late

imageI couldn’t wait to come home on a Friday. I’ve missed my mom over the week since I moved in to a friend’s boarding house last Monday. For the first time, I gathered my courage to live a life of independence. I consider this as another breakthrough in this season of change…and, just so, it’s a beautiful breakthrough.
I am already 31 but there are just normal things for grown-ups that I couldn’t dare face. It was at this stage that I realized that I need to workout and I need to have a regular dental cleaning every six months. It was also at this stage that I have to get out of my comfort zone and live independently. I have to do this as I begin to work at a new company in the heart of the busy Ortigas suburbian jungle, where monstrous traffic choke EDSA endlessly and expensive UV express rides drain our wallets ridiculously.
I need to move in to a nearer place to keep a clean slate from tardiness. I have wasted enough time travelling and sleeping in the bus while missing my social life. I don’t have to wait until sixty to know how I have missed so many dates on my calendar.
But the first day of independence was quite a dread. Without a mom who would cook for me and nearly having nothing except clothes for the next four days, I was nearly battered with homesickness.
I missed my own room, I missed my stuffed toy Eeyore, and especially my mom and this place I call home. I tried to sleep at my first night despite hearing the mosquitoes buzz tauntingly at my ear. I tried to dream the night away while wondering what to eat the next day.
My mornings became easier during the following days. I familiarized myself on how to get to the office easily, kept myself neat and tidy at that short travel time, and shared my breakfast time with the other trainees at the office pantry. My mind began to plan on what I need to buy and looked for a zumba class at a nearby mall.
Here I stand as a late bloomer. Still, I enjoyed my first week of independence and I’m getting used to it. But as much as possible, I need to get home on weekends so I could bring all my dirty clothes to the laundry. Now, that’s a good reason to see your folks.
Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

