Willing to be Illuminated and Pierced

I was getting ready to bed after a long day when I was captivated by an old framed picture in our house with these words…

20160403-113316.jpg

This gave me encouragement and a reason to be thankful for having real friends. I’m not rich with a millionaire’s bank account, but I realize I’m richer in God’s love through friends who don’t mind my status quo but who just love me for being myself. This wall decor has been with us with years and I never thought it would speak again powerfully. Here it quietly lies along the others in a small corner beside my room, where our eyes pass by them everyday but their existence is nearly taken for granted.

20160403-113641.jpg

I used to muse at each one of them when I was a small girl scratching the walls with various colored pens. I thought some of them was too dull to look at, so maybe I could make up a little story on one of them:

20160403-113830.jpg

As I was growing up, I would meditate at each of them from time to time. I believe this one has been the motto of most Christian families:

20160403-114002.jpg

This one is also a favorite verse during Sunday school days because it’s easy to memorize.

20160403-114025.jpg

As for this one, I pray the same for you.

20160403-114240.jpg

One little framed picture above them was a prayer for marriage. I have not mused on that yet, maybe because it’s not yet the season. đŸ™‚

20160403-114426.jpg

My favorite among them is this framed poem of “Footprints In the Sand”. I’ve always wondered if real sand was used in this mixed artwork and marvelled at how Jesus can be that loving after reading the poem over and over again.

20160403-114621.jpg

Topping them all was this short but popular quote among Bible-believing Christians in my generation. That used to scare me as a kid because I haven’t had the grasp of what salvation was all about. I once thought that heaven was boring because I thought that we’d do nothing in eternity but play harps among the clouds.

20160403-114851.jpg

Lastly, the sides are furnished with these decors made if shells with a nearly fading handpainted blessing.

20160403-115020.jpg

Dust has already settled on them but the words they contain still carry the same power that can change lives. From time to time, I can’t help but stop and stare at one, and let me consider God’s promises in my life. I guess this is the reason they remain hanging on our wall. We just can’t take away God’s Word off our lives because it makes us alive. The time will come that these decors may deteriorate just like us, but for a season they have served the purpose of bringing back to our hearts of God’s covenant with us.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

