Willing to be Illuminated and Pierced

IMG_20150604_104245

My ID when I was a trainee at a government radio station laid beside my medal when I won 3rd for interpretative reading for a speech contest.

One of the blessings I’m having in this resting period is the huge chunk of time I have for clearing my closet. If it were not for the need to look for my transcript of records and my college diploma, I would not have unraveled a lot of nostalgia from those crazy college years last week.

If my contemporaries loved high school more than college, I’d rather not rally with them. I hold on to my conviction that the college years made the best out of me compared to those high school days. Maybe because those four years in high school only ignited my insecurities. Those college years were more exciting and challenging. This was when I discovered that I can challenge myself and go beyond the classroom chair. I never thought I’d have the chance of joining contests and even having a work published in a newspaper. These were the years that I don’t get to be a teacher’s pet, a topnotcher, or a heartthrob just to be a contestant. Oh yes, that was my golden era of my school life.

My picture album and other invites for events

My picture album and other invites for events

I am a natural-born shy girl…and I don’t know why I wanted to get into the mass communications

My one and only picture from the PRSP competition when I was in 3rd year college. See the pimples? :)

My one and only picture from the PRSP competition when I was in 4th year college. See the pimples behind my Ceshire cat grin? 🙂

department so badly, which I gladly did. Masscomm students have inherited the saving power of voicing everything out loud. Without it, it would disprove our reputation of being worthy in this department. I, on my part, loved the idea of working behind the television production, taking video shoots, writing scripts, and just be as creative in media. I had even experienced – and learned – outside the classroom by watching theater plays (which I dearly love), documentaries, and exhibits. But I will not deny the stress and emotional despair experienced in every projects and exams that go way above my head. There were terror professors, true, but we also had inspiring ones who encouraged us to go beyond our limits. I had a lot of interesting friends and worked with fascinating colleagues who are simply go out-of-the-box. We had entered exciting competitions outside the university. The best maybe is have some of our works aired on television.

One of my…ehem…achievements in college was when I had a work published on paper. But I guess I won’t re-publish it now. Just watch it out on the next blog. 🙂

IMG_20150604_104846

My graduation picture…one of my, well, prettiest 🙂

Looking at the pictures, I looked plain…except for that wide Cheshire cat grin that pushed those dreaded pimples off my cheeks. I am just fascinated how my trademark grin had not vanished from these plump cheeks of mine, which usually flashed automatically when I see familiar faces.

Despite presently not being challenged, these memorabilia remind me that I can go beyond from where I am right now. I don’t have to be a somebody in society to reach my dreams. Besides, heroes come from being zero.  It would be good to see these hidden treasures from time to time…especially when you thought you just lost your diploma beneath the pile of papers and folders.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

