Willing to be Illuminated and Pierced

Still Standing

Two things fell from my hands today: my laptop and myself. If you would ask which is devastating, I guess both are, except in varied effects.

Isolating myself from the pool of reporters due to an allergy attack, I sat in the other room while listening to the press briefing’s live streaming. As I sat on the couch, I plugged my laptop opposite to me. People passing by were careful not to trip on the wire until one accidentally did. In effect, my laptop flew from my hands and crashed on the floor.

It horrified me and the people around me. My notes were gone. The screen turned black. My broadband stick was bent. But adjusting the battery and turning it on again, I was surprised.

It’s still working.

Later at a coverage, I was pressured. Going to the other side of the waiting area to plug my laptop, I left my other bag and other things. But when I returned to the place where I had been, I was deceived at the floor, which I thought was flat. Loosing my footing on the lower step, my feet gave way, hit my right knee, and my body fell to the floor as I gave a scream.

Again, it horrified me and the people around me. My poise was gone. All eyes were pitiful at me. I was shaking when the presidential guards were picking me up. My knee was badly hurt. I sat on another chair as the other people were helping me at my things. But later within the day, I am thankful.

I’m still standing.

These things are enough reasons for me to grumble. I can moan and blame anybody for my laptop’s injury. I can even blame myself for making an embarrassing scene at the coverage. But there’s no time for that. All I have to do is to overcome.

And that’s amazing.

We overcome when we don’t dwell in the tragedy. We overcome when we see dark things in the positive. We overcome when we are thankful in every circumstance.

I am surprised that I did not complain. Instead, I just smiled, said “It’s ok”, thanked the people who helped me (especially to the presidential guards who were quick to pick me up), and continued my work.

So, I realized this is just a small testing. I remember how I prayed that I will overcome when I come through trials and testing. God’s grace is amazing. He never fails to listen to your small request. And I saw how He answered it.

I’m anticipating a purple, bruised knee tomorrow. I wouldn’t mind. As long as I am still standing — especially on the Rock. 🙂

Where's the bruised knee? Still standing and walking around after a fall. :)

Where’s the bruised knee? Still standing and walking around after a fall. 🙂

Comments on: "Still Standing" (1)

  1. Never give-up! Thank you for sharing your test.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

