Willing to be Illuminated and Pierced

Shifting Focus

I left Monday with an angry and stressed outlook.

It’s so frustrating when one day you’re empowered with the Lord’s promises and restful atmosphere on Sunday but suddenly shifting into a furious worker on Mondays. I almost thought of myself as a modern-day Dr.-Jekyll-slash-Mr.-Hyde. What’s even more frustrating is when I realize I’ve broken another testimony. It’s like shattering a new golden ball you received as a gift before your folks can appreciate it.

The Kingdom of Heaven is righteousness, peace, and joy. But absence of these three things reflects the loss of them. Only through Christ can we receive these things. But they can only manifest if we fully have faith to let go of our selfish ways and let the Giver of these things take over our lives.

It requires a change in focus. Whatever I focus affects my perception, and much sooner, my emotions. Should I focus with what I see or what I hope for? Blessed are those who have not seen yet believed, the Bible says.

I hope for excellence. But I cannot move forward if I focus on the failure of one step.

I hope for alliances. But I cannot have it if I focus on the character flaw of one person.

I hope for promotion. But I cannot obtain it if I focus on self-pity and insecurity.

I hope for world restoration. But I can never be part of it if I focus on myself alone.

I cannot dwell in the lack that I see. All I have to focus is on the One who can fill the lack. If I have no cards left, only God can change the game to my favor…not because of me, but because I’m part of His team that brings His glory and love to a broken world with a distracted focus.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

