Willing to be Illuminated and Pierced

Through the Open Door

I couldn’t believe I’m finally seeing this. This is the simple dream that lay dormant beneath my busy mindstate.

Rest…finally. After all these grueling days of writing scripts, covering different beats, and sacrificing much of myself despite having terrible colds, I’m here on our little couch. Perhaps you can’t imagine how comforted and happy I feel by just looking through that open porch door. But there’s something more than that door.

I see my happy childhood memories. I can remember the feeling of being excited while wondering what’s the world outside. It is through this door that introduced me that there’s life more than this little playground called house.

I see my favorite jackfruit tree. Oh, it’s more than a jackfruit tree, I’m proud of it. My friends who have tasted some of its fruits can’t help but ask for more. And again, it’s connected to my happy childhood. I’ll never forget how my sister and I used to hang out beside it. I love how its leaves try to catch the sun rays at noon. Its green leaves even try to disguise itself orange during sunset. And I can’t even count how many creepy crawlers on its branches tried to make me scream.

I see light. Try to close it and the house darkens. Just give me the bliss of basking in its brightness while feeling sick.

I see freedom. Wow, I feel free by just looking at the open life from the inside. Reminds me how free life is. I believe I’ve forgotten this freedom after basking too much at work.

I see life. All these memories and realizations counted into one thing we should not miss — the joy of being alive.

Perhaps, I can only remember this once in in a while. But then, just like rich wine, they become better when opened and tasted again.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

