Willing to be Illuminated and Pierced

One Soul At A Time

Sometimes, it’s so frustrating not to be a Billy Graham or a even just a plain superhero. For most times, I tend to be idealistic, dreaming that I can speak in front of millions and save them all (well, not really me, but the Lord through me). I imagine how it might be fulfilling when one reaches lots of souls at the same time.

But for most times, the Lord works in ways that we earthly people don’t expect. I’m no pastor, neither am I called to be one. And yet, there are a few souls that I always reach out in one time or another.

Every after Sunday service, I’d always look for my friends and familiar faces. There are not a lot of them, but I am always happy when I say hello to these few and see how they’re going through. And there’s this young boy whom I talk much…and pray for much…

And so my Mom tagged him as “Rhema’s Timothy”.

For most times, he’d share to me his problems, his frustrations and what the Lord does in his life. In turn, I encourage and pray for him. Most Sundays, the pattern is always the same…but every time we end in prayer, I felt fulfilled. For one more time, the Lord touched another soul through this frail little vessel.

Who knows what this little friend will be in the coming days.

I suddenly see myself that though I’m praying or talking to one soul, I am still part of God’s vast, eternal picture. I don’t know what this fellowship will make out of my friend, but I believe that this short fellowship and prayer will turn him into something that many will never expect. God has a great destiny for him and yet he needs fellow puzzle pieces to help him get into his rightful place in God’s picture.

With this, I am more encouraged to look for people and pray for them (yet, sensitive for such souls who need prayer and encouragement). It’s not only my friend who’s encouraged. Unconsciously, he helps me break out of this shell of doubt and frustration.

When I see him encouraged, I am also encouraged. I don’t feel proud. I’m happy to see him encouraged through God’s peace that works from within me. Who am I to be a vessel of the Spirit of a great and powerful God? Yet, I’m thankful, for we are both part of a greater picture that we will see in the coming days.

I don’t know how these small instances will change and mold both of us. But I believe it’s an overwhelming way on how God shows His extraordinary love to frail little souls like us. We are made for one another. These fellowships are made for such a season as this, I believe. And I can’t wait to touch another life in the coming seasons to whom the Lord will show His love and glory.

Small instances? The size does not matter. It may not be as big as any evangelistic crusade, but I will cherish these  fellowships and these friendships for the Lord cherishes and loves these people, too.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

