Willing to be Illuminated and Pierced

Redreaming My Old Dreams

I had never thought that after ten years, a dream would come alive. When I was in highschool, I dreamed of becoming a reporter. I remember our teacher having us make a short skit of what we would want to become ten years after graduation. I can still remember clearly that our concept was a Who Wants to be a Millionaire type. Upon introduction, I said I was an award-winning broadcaster haha!

When I entered college, I began to shift decision after decision. From advertising, film, I soon ended in BPO. I don’t know why. Somehow I realigned my priorities to find a stable job and earn a lot of money. BPO in the Philippines by that time was already a fast-growing industry so they hire people in just a week and salaries and perks were like stones to new hires like me. But that isn’t what life is all about. There is no such thing as a stable job and earning a lot is not man’s ultimate goal. But it took me a long time before I realized where my dreams lie. Just soon enough, I’m back to my first love: mass media.

Sounds ironic but I guess wherever the Lord wants us to be, we’ll be there no matter how far we’re led astray. I believe that He had put this dream into my heart and it sank deep within until it was reawakened. Perhaps, I got scared to pursue my dream because this kind of job will break me from complacency. During the first months I was hired into the station I am in, I was scared of what lay ahead before me as a reporter especially I felt pressure for I knew so much would be expected of me. I asked the Lord that wherever He really wants me to be, I will embraced it with all my heart. Until now, I am surprised how I’m embracing the field that I tried to run away from before.

Oh yes, the Lord moves in ways we do not expect. I believe He does not put dreams in our hearts that He does not desire. It’s just up to us if we will passionately pursue it or let it die in time.

I’m no award-winning broadcaster though. Just a watchdog who loves witnessing and retelling history as it should be.

Comments on: "Redreaming My Old Dreams" (1)

  1. nice Rhema…

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

