Willing to be Illuminated and Pierced

Breaking Self-Made Norms

I have every right to be annoyed, right? I’m happy with the people I’m with, got an awesome experience of being a TV reporter, and have the time I want during my off moments. But, there’s still something missing – and has never taken place yet: revival.

In revival, there is brokeness. In revival, there is total surrender to the Lord. In revival, everything is unmasked. In revival, change is inevitable to the core. But these things I don’t see everyday…and we always tend to be superficial in everyway. We tend to tolerate more on the abase more than righteousness. Humility, besides, is too strange for most of us. We are too tired to seek the Lord and be willing to die to ourselves. This is the normal norm. But in revival, all norms are destroyed.

What bothers me most is when we Christians claim we do the religious routines as if they make us good. Indeed, they should. But we do it without heart. We read the Bible without understanding God’s wisdom and without being willing to be rebuked. We pray without listening to His warnings. We have degraded our knowledge of Him to be a nice, warm, and fuzzy Somebody, as if we can tickle Him all the time. But He is a God of balance. He is the God of love and the God of judgement. He is the God that upholds righteousness and the God that destroys the hinders righteousness. He is the God who saves the willing and yet the God who condemns the wicked. He is never one-sided. He is fair.

And yet, where are we? We don’t want this truth because we are offended. We want to be cuddled. But until we are stained, He does not want us to stay that way. We need to be shaken. We need to be burned. If we truly want to be a generation after His own heart, we have to hate what He hates. And so, I have to learn to hate what He hates.

He hates sin. He hates pride. And these things are not easy to let go. I’m born in flesh and so I’m used with it. I would think myself as self-righteous and yet…that is pride. There is no love in self-righteousness. We usually miss that part. Love Him with all our heart and love others as we love ourselves, Jesus said.

And so I see myself in need of a great polish. I’m not that pure. I need to get rid of my self-centeredness. I’m so impatient to see revival, but how can revival happen if I myself is not ready for it? I need to know more of Him and His heart and be willing to be rebuked and let the Lord scrub the stains of my soul – no matter how it hurts.

God cleanse me. Let me not see with my eyes but with Yours. Let me hate sin but not the sinner. Send down Your fire, and purge me from within. Revival will come if we pursue it – and if we pursue the God who can make it.

wallpaper, utorrent

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

